

Minutes of the 68th Annual General Meeting 2019

2pm Sunday 13th October 2019

Cerebral Palsy Society Office, 8 Railway Street, Newmarket, Auckland

Attendees:

Peter Fergusson, Amy Hogan, Jacob Mills, Rebecca Morris, Kallen Neki, Michael Northcott, Jacqui Parkinson, Gilli Sinclair, Anthony Smith, Danielle Smith, Michael Turner, Laurie Dando, Frieda Crawford, Stephanie Maitland, Jocelyn Brunt, Dave Thomas, Gemma Overton, Merryn Straker, Ross Flood, Aden Miles, Phillipa Westwood, Kate Hedges, Melanie Fergusson, Hamish Fergusson, Tim George, Sue Lewis-O'Halloran, Jordon Milroy, Red Nicholson, Mke Ninces, Sara Sheehan

1. Welcome

President Anthony Smith welcomed everyone to the meeting and called the meeting to order at 2.05pm. He thanked all the members for attending with special acknowledgement to Ross Flood a life member that was present.

2. Apologies

Apologies had been received prior to the meeting from Sally Thomas, John Lee, Janet Lee, Paul Munckhof, Gabrielle Heaslip, Bernadette McRobie, Sean Parker, Harvey Brunt, Karl Sangster, Sandra Grey, Leo Grey, Susan Smith, Michelle Hamilton, Karen O'Leary

3. Minutes of the 2017 AGM

It was moved that the tabled minutes be accepted as a true and accurate record of the Annual General Meeting held on 13th October 2018.

Moved by Laurie Dando and seconded by Peter Fergusson - carried.

4. Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

5. President's Report

Anthony Smith took the report as read, highlighting the following:

In summary, it has been a good year over the Cerebral Palsy Society, as the group is \$2.7m ahead of this time last year. This is due to decisions of previous boards and the quality management of the funds. Current board is committed to look for new ideas for members as well as keeping up with current members benefits

EAL – have moved forward in total position and we are very fortunate to have good directors.

CIL – a very good year with a couple of cash flow business projecting good margins.

Membership continues to grow

Steptember Strategy – the Cerebral Palsy Society was committed to the current year, however will continue to review relevance and future involvement by Cerebral Palsy Society

Office Team – Anthony thanked Gilli and the office team for continuing to work hard on new ideas and ways to support members. One such example at present is looking at opportunities for beach access.

Advocacy – whilst we have good one on one advocacy, the board is committed to growing a national advocacy focus.

Anthony thanked all other board members for their help and looks forward to working with the board in the future.

Acceptance of the President's report – moved by Peter Fergusson and seconded by Merryn Straker - carried

6. Financial Report

It was moved that the tabled financial reports be accepted.

Moved by Dave Thomas and seconded by Amy Hogan - carried

7. Membership fees

It was announced that the Membership fees would remain unchanged for the 2019/20 year.

8. Life Members Proposed by Board

The Cerebral Palsy Society proposed life memberships for the following people:

- Peter Fergusson
- Karl Sangster

Both have made a significant impact on the society and have contributed to the security of the organisations structure.

It was moved that Peter Fergusson and Karl Sangster be made Life Members of the Cerebral Palsy Society.

Moved Anthony Smith and seconded Michael Turner - carried

Gift was presented to Peter Fergusson. Peter acknowledged all the other life members, including Neil McCorie who passed away this year. Peter commented that he had spoken to Karl about this as well and he had expressed to Peter that he was humbled as well to be acknowledged by his peers and board. Both Peter and Karl were proud of where the Cerebral Palsy Society is now.

9. Auditors

It was proposed that RSM Hayes be retained as the auditors for the 2019/20 financial year.

Moved by Anthony Smith and seconded by Laurie Dando - carried

10. Appointment of the Society's officers

4 positions on the board were available for election this year, and 9 nominations had been received –.Dave Thomas, Jake Mills, Merryn Straker, Kurt Peterson, Michael Turner, Niki Simpkin-Hill, Red Nicholson, Sally Thomas, Sean Parker

The results of all votes (postal, electronic, proxy and members attending AGM) were counted and verified by Sara Sheehan and Stephanie Maitland.

The elected board members were declared as – Sally Thomas, Dave Thomas, Red Nicholson, Niki Simpkin-Hill.

Anthony congratulated the successful candidates – and formally welcomed them to the CPS Board.

Anthony expressed his thanks to the current board members who were not reelected, and thanked them for their effort and support to the board, as well as the focus and improvements they had contributed to as board members.

Anthony thanked all other members that stood for the board.

The meeting was closed at 2.24pm and the members then stayed to enjoy an afternoon tea.